First of the new Northern Heat squads announced

The first crop of selected players into the 2021/2022 Northern Heat program have been announced, including the first ever group of Under 15 players.

As a result of COVID restrictions, not all athletes were able to put their names forward at the same time. As a result, squad selections will be managed on a rolling basis, with the first 30 players having been selected and others to be added as the program gets underway.

Based on the success of the Under 17 program since it was introduced three years ago, the decision was made to add an Under 15 squad this season. This means double the opportunities for players from the North Coast and North West to develop themselves and take their game to the next level through their involvement in the summer program.

The Heat program exists to build the footy IQ of players, transition them towards the ranks of Senior footy, and to offer an alternate pathway. The program includes video analysis, strength and conditioning training, and match play against the age group teams of the Southport Sharks club that competes in the VFL.

Paul Taylor, Community Football Manager, said that the selected players will have to make a big commitment. “The Heat is an off season program where we have to do plenty of travel just to get to training sessions where we know the conditions will be hot and draining.

“A lot of our program is delivered through personal programs where the players have to commit to doing the work outside of structured training sessions. Those that put in the work will see their skills and fitness go to another level that will stand them ahead of their opponents. Who knows how far their efforts will take them – they could be the next Northern NSW product in the AFL Draft just like Heat graduate Angus Anderson.”

The selected players are:


Chad Anderson (Sawtell Toormina Saints)
Cedar Barry (Port Macquarie Magpies)
Jai Bowd (Bellingen Bulldogs)
Patrick Carey (Bellingen Bulldogs)
Ray Christie (Northern Beaches Blues)
Max Cracknell (Nambucca Valley Lions)
Serge Denblyden (Northern Beaches Blues)
Will Devereaux (Nambucca Valley Lions)
Beau Guthrie (Coffs Harbour Breakers)
Diesel Harvey (Glen Innes Celts)
Billy Hoppe (Gunnedah Bulldogs)
Lochlan Jones (Port Macquarie Magpies)
Mallee Martin (Inverell Saints)
Angus McFarlane (Nambucca Valley Lions)
Zane Quay (Northern Beaches Blues)
Tom Ryan (Port Macquarie Magpies)
Marlon Ryan-Frost (Northern Beaches Blues)
Greg Sieber (Glen Innes Celts)
Tane Skinner (Sawtell Toormina Saints)


Hamish Anderson (Sawtell Toormina Saints)
Jake Cosgrove (Tamworth Roosters)
Jack Dadd (Tamworth Roosters)
Dusty Hagon (Tamworth Roosters)
Buckley Jarvis (Sawtell Toormina Saints)
Will Kelly (Port Macquarie Magpies)
Harrison Lee (Sawtell Toormina Saints)
Jaxon Mawson Gulliford (Port Macquarie Magpies)
Alby Popko (Grafton Tigers)
Jaymus Troutman (Sawtell Toormina Saints)
Kyan Upsall (Sawtell Toormina Saints)