“On this day in September” – 9 September

Looking for a more positive way to view 9 September? Then read on and find out about some of the great things that have happened on this day in previous years.

Two Senior Grand Finals have been played on this day with five premiers decided. Remarkably, South Coffs/Coffs Swans are the only club to have won a Premiership on this date!

There’s also been a Mid North Coast Grand Final day, and two Senior presentation nights, including one where the League recognised a key figure from the beginning of club and League footy in the region.

South Coffs achieved an extremely rare feat of completing a clean sweep of Premierships on Grand Final day.
Seniors: South Coffs 13.8 (86) def Woolgoolga Blues 8.6 (54)
Reserves: South Coffs won their seventh title in a row to extend their run as the only team to have won this competition.
Under 18: South Coffs made it six in a row to continue their run as the only club to claim this title since it was introduced.

Coffs Swans won both Seniors and Reserves which were the only two grades to be contested that season. 1995 saw the end of an incredible 13 year run, being the first time that Woolgoolga Blues didn’t play in the Senior Grand Final since the League formed in 1982.
Seniors: Coffs Swans 14.12 (96) def Port Macquarie Magpies 9.5 (59)
Reserves: The competition resumed after a six year break, Coffs Swans picked up where they left off winning their eighth title in a row.
Under 18: Not contested in 1995.

Port captain/coach Matt Newton was the winner of the Best and Fairest Medal in the year that the Magpies celebrated its 25th anniversary.

Under 13: Port Macquarie Magpies def Macleay Valley Eagles
Under 15.5: Port Macquarie Magpies def Wauchope Kangaroos

The League Best and Fairest Medal was renamed the Brian Saville Medal in recognition of the significant contribution Brian made to starting club footy in the region, and in commencing our own North Coast League.
Luke Matthews (Sawtell) won the first Brian Saville Medal, his second League B&F after also winning seven years earlier. This was one of the closest counts in a long time, with Luke polling one vote in the final round to beat Luke Stanford (Grafton) by that margin.
Pat Myles (Sawtell) was the winner of the Reserve Grade Best and Fairest Medal, leading by the front as Sawtell’s Premiership winning captain.
Jackson Terley (Port) won the Under 17 Best and Fairest Medal in the first year since the age group changed (from Under 18).

To see more details of the AFL North Coast timeline over the past 40 seasons and beyond, please click here.

L-R: Luke Stanford, Brian Saville, Luke Matthews

Brad Giri presents Jackson Terley with the Under 18 B&F