Bumper AFLW squad for NCAS

The North Coast Academy of Sport (NCAS) has announced its 2020/2021 AFLW squad with a record number of girls selected.

Reflecting the rapid growth of Youth Girls footy on the North Coast, this year’s AFLW squad has almost doubled against the previous year’s, with 28 girls set to take part across the off season.

NCAS Head Coach Alana Hanson is excited to work with the new squad. “It’s great to see the numbers growing as more and more girls take up club footy. Just as importantly, it also means that the skill levels and playing standard that we have to work with are higher each year so I can’t wait to get started with this talented group of girls.”

In addition to AFL specific training sessions, the NCAS program offers athletes support in areas such as sport science, nutrition, and other education sessions.

The NCAS squad will take part in the Academy games in April which will form a key part of the selection process for both the NSW/ACT Under 16 and Under 18 state teams.

“The program is a great chance for the girls to learn about and build upon all aspects of their sporting performance, whilst also placing them in the eye of state selectors to be considered for a state team to compete at the national championships,” Hanson said.

The 2020/2021 NCAS squad is:

Maddison Adams (Sawtell Toormina Saints)

Isla Anderson (Sawtell Toormina Saints)

Rani Anderson (Grafton Tigers)

Chelsie Bagnall (Grafton Tigers)

Mackenzie Bagnall (Grafton Tigers)

Phoebe Baptiste (Coffs Harbour Breakers)

Deja Barlow (Bellingen Bulldogs)

Zoe Clarke (Sawtell Toormina Saints)

April Devine (Coffs Harbour Breakers)

Mia Fahey (Grafton Tigers)

Natalie Giri (Coffs Harbour Breakers)

Jazlen Hooke (Northern Beaches Blues)

Poppy Johnston (Sawtell Toormina Saints)

Winnie Johnston (Sawtell Toormina Saints)

Bethany Jokinen (Coffs Harbour Breakers)

Trinity Kachel (Coffs Harbour Breakers)

Shania King (Northern Beaches Blues)

Tyleah Larcombe (Grafton Tigers)

Selina Leslie (Grafton Tigers)

Violet Livingstone (Coffs Harbour Breakers)

Asha Lloyd (Sawtell Toormina Saints)

Summer Loadsman (Grafton Tigers)

Jamika McAulay-Earnest (Bellingen Bulldogs)

Lilli-yana Moody (Sawtell Toormina Saints)

Darcy O’Rorke (Coffs Harbour Breakers)

Hannah Watkins (Grafton Tigers)

Ella Wilson (Northern Beaches Blues)

Jasmin Vassallo (Grafton Tigers)