Emerging leaders will help to grow local footy

The ground breaking AFL North Coast Youth Leadership Accelerator Program launched today (Saturday 23 February) with 30 emerging leaders further developing their skills in this key life skill.

AFL North Coast has partnered with the Institute of Sport, with their expert facilitators to provide both the face to face and online training. The program comprised sessions on topics including leadership type and styles, leading with personal brand, leading in communication, and applying leadership in context.

Sam Graham, CEO of AFL NSW/ACT said that the North Coast is leading the way with the introduction of this innovative program. “This is the first of its kind in Australia for the AFL, to develop the leadership skills of youth. Leadership is a critical skill that we pride dearly at the AFL.”

The program targets 13 to 18 year old male and female players. In addition to the training component participants will undertake leadership roles within the sport to reinforce the learnings. These roles will include umpiring, helping to run Auskick, and assisting with Junior teams.

Paul Taylor, Community Football Manager, said that the response from players has been incredibly positive. “The participants really surprised us with how quickly they grasped the concepts presented and were able to apply them in a practical situation.

“Its fantastic to see so many young people keen to develop and expand their leadership capabilities. It’s a great sign for the ongoing growth of our sport in the region.”

Participants in the inaugural Youth Leadership Accelerator Program are:

Maddy Adams (Sawtell Toormina Saints)

Hamish Anderson (Sawtell Toormina Saints)

Sascha Arnberger (Camden Haven Bombers)

Hudson Barry (Northern Beaches Blues)

Jai Bowd (Bellingen Bulldogs)

Kirrilee Cutmore (Macleay Valley Eagles)

Riley Dagger (Coffs Harbour Breakers)

Ellie Decker (Sawtell Toormina Saints)

Serge Denblyden (Northern Beaches Blues)

April Devine (Macleay Valley Eagle)

Lilly Doyle (Grafton Tigers)

Bill Gibbeson (Coffs Harbour Breakers)

Connor Green (Nambucca Valley Lions)

Molly Kemp (Port Macquarie Magpies)

Harrison Lee (Bellingen Bulldogs)

Mikey Luxton (Grafton Tigers)

Harry Mapleson (Coffs Harbour Breakers)

Jaxon Mawson Gulliford (Manning Valley Mustangs)

Jamika McAulay-Earnest (Bellingen Bulldogs)

Angus McFarlane (Nambucca Valley Lions)

Zeke McFaull (Coffs Harbour Breakers)

Charlie Millar (Coffs Harbour Breakers)

Ayden Nieuwerth (Northern Beaches Blues)

Hayden Proctor (Coffs Harbour Breakers)

Chelsee Ryan (Grafton Tigers)

Lachlan Street (Grafton Tigers)

Jaymus Troutman (Sawtell Toormina Saints)

Malakai Troutman (Sawtell Toormina Saints)

Tom Walsh (Coffs Harbour Breakers)

Evan Whitty (Grafton Tigers)